Title Sponsor

Atrium Health – Greater Charlotte North Area is the title sponsor of the Health Equity Innovation Challenge and cares deeply about Health Equity and eliminating disparities in healthcare outcomes. The challenge statement is in alignment with Atrium Health’s Impact 2025 Strategic Priorities.

Executive Committee Members

Manwell Bynum

Head of Business Acceleration

Dr. Goldie Byrd

Director, Maya Angelou Center
for Health Equity

Laura Foxx

HR Program Manager, Innovation

Peggy Harris

Regional Chief Diversity Officer

Roy Hawkins, Jr.

SVP, Market President
North Area

Dr. Gwen Oglesby-Odom

Vice President of Community Engagement – Enterprise, Advocate Health

Dr. Andrew Nance

Physician Lead, Cabarrus
County Population Health

Asha Rodriguez

Vice President,
Facility Executive

Matt Roden

Director of Community Engagement
and Corporate Responsibility
North & Central Market

Grant Sponsor

Eli Lilly and Company Foundation is a private, tax-exempt organization that makes strategic and philanthropic investments consistent with Lilly’s purpose.

Challenge Administration

The Flywheel Foundation is pleased to partner with Atrium Health – Cabarrus and the collaborating organizations by administering the Challenge application process, screening, and selection of proposals, and the acceleration and incubation of selected companies.

Jill Atherton

Executive Director

Peter Marsh

Founding Director, Managing
Member Flywheel New Ventures

Malobi Achike

HEIC Accelerator Director

Collaborating Organizations

The following institutions and organizations are key advisory partners contributing research, community engagement, subject matter expertise, mentors, and developmental support.

Jaime Brown

City of Concord, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Strategist

Page Castrodale

Cabarrus Economic Development Corporation, Executive Director

Dr. Cam Cruickshank

Cabarrus College of Health
Sciences, President

Jeanne Dixon

Kannapolis City Councilwoman

Rev. Dr. Claude Forehand II

First Baptist Church of Kannapolis, Pastor

Timbs Fulghum

Atrium Health, Community Engagement
and Corporate Responsibility
North Market

Patrick Graham

WeBuild Concord,
Executive Director

Ed Hosack

Cooperative Christian Ministry,
Executive Director

Elizabeth Hutchins

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Carolinas,
Area Director – Cabarrus County

Donald Jonas

Atrium Health,
AVP Social Strategy and Impact

Barbi Jones

The Chamber, Leading Business in Cabarrus, Executive Director

Irene Sacks

City of Kannapolis, Director of Economic and Community Development

Erin Shoe

Cabarrus Health Alliance,
Public Health Director

Jennifer Snow

Atrium Health,
AVP Community Health Strategy

Dr. Carol Spalding

Rowan-Cabarrus Community
College, President

Mark Spitzer

Castle & Cooke North Carolina, President

Benjamin Tingey

Atrium Health,
Innovation and Design Strategist

Sandra Torres

Cabarrus Health Alliance,
El Puente Hispano President

The 2024 Entry Period Has Ended

© Health Equity Innovation Challenge. All rights reserved.
Site developed by Perry Productions.